Search engine  

  

 

 

  

Ship model Sovereign of the Seas 1637

 

Ship model SOVEREIGN OF THE SEAS of 1637

 

Ship name SOVEREIGN OF THE SEAS
Scale 1 : 78
Length 110 cm
Width 46 cm
Height 90 cm
Material hull Wood
Photos 1 Total views
Photos 2 Views of details
Price sold
Transport cost   -   


 

 

 

 

 

Click pictures to enlarge!

 

 

   

The history of the SOVEREIGN OF THE SEAS


At her lauch in 1637, the SOVEREIGN OF THE SEAS was larger and more powerful than any other ship at that time.  Her crew counted up to 800 men, and her 102 guns could fire damaging broadsides.

In 1634, King Charles I of England had asked the great English shipbuilder Phineas Pett to build a great new ship to improve and expand England’s navy. The Sovereign of the Seas was built at a cost of £65,586 – about ten 40-gun ships could have been built for the same amount. She was intended as an instrument of propaganda as well as war, and was the Royal Navy’s most lavishly ornamented vessel.

 
In 1660 she was rebuilt and got renamed Royal Sovereign. During the three Anglo-Dutch Wars she fought at the Battle of Ketish Knock in 1652, Orfordness (1666), Solebay (1672), Schoonveld (1673), and the battle of Texel (1673). In 1685 she was rebuilt a second time and got into action during the War of the League of Augsburg. She was at the battle of Beachy Head (1690) and the battles of Barfleur and La Hogue (1692). In 1696 her end came by accident. A misplaced candle set the ship on fire and she burned at Chatham.

  

The SOVEREIGN OF THE SEAS ship model, photos, description and dimensions
 

This model of the SOVEREIGN OF THE SEAS is a fine piece of work. The rigging and hull are impressive, and the many details show the art of shipbuilding at that time. It took 22 months to make this ship model.
It is 1 : 78 scale. Length is 110 cm, width 46 cm, height 90 cm.

Have a look at the set of photos. There are several views of the entire ship model and closer views of hull, deck and rigging. Click images to enlarge!

 

This model has already been sold. The pictures and the data are shown in the gallery of the ship models sold only to let enthusiasts and model makers enjoy the photos and maybe get ideas or some guidance, if someone builds such a model by himself.


  Contact:  Tel. +49 2361 59757

Email:  michael.czytko@t-online.de

  About us Imprint
  Buying ship models Transporting ship models
  Sitemap Contact

Search engine  

  

 

 

  

Schiffsmodell Sovereign of the Seas 1637

  

Schiffsmodell englische SOVEREIGN OF THE SEAS

  

Schiffsname SOVEREIGN OF THE SEAS
Maßstab 1 : 78
Länge 110 cm
Breite 46 cm
Höhe 90 cm
Material Rumpf Holz
Fotos 1 Gesamtansichten
Fotos 2 Detailansichten
Preis verkauft
Transportkosten   -   


 

 

 

 

 

Klicken Sie auf die Bilder zum Vergrößern!

 

 

  

Die Geschichte der SOVEREIGN OF THE SEAS

 

Die englische SOVEREIGN OF THE SEAS war bei ihrem Stapellauf 1637 war das mächtigste Schiff ihrer Zeit. König Charles I von England gab das Schiff 1634 bei dem berühmten Schiffsbaumeister Phineas Pett in Auftrag. Es wurde für 65586 Pfund mit umfangreichen Verzierungen gebaut, ein Betrag, der den Haushalt stark belastete und für den man zehn 40-Kanonen-Schiffe hätte bauen können. Die Besatzung bestand aus 800 Mann.

Das Schiff war ebenso ein Propagandainstrument wie ein Kriegsschiff. Es wurde in den Folgejahren in diesem Sinne auch von Oliver Cromwell und Charles II so genutzt. Das Schiff nahm an mehreren Gefechten teil: the Battle of Kentish Knock 1652, Orfordness 1666, Solebay 1672, Schoonveld 1673 und 1673 die Seeschlacht vor Texel. Nach Umbau und größeren Reparaturen 1685 folgten 1690 die Seeschlacht von Beachy Head und 1692 die Seeschlachten von Barfleur und La Hougue. Das Ende kam durch eine Unachtsamkeit: 1696 wurde durch eine umgefallene Kerze ein Brand ausgelöst, der das Schiff vernichtete.

 

Das Schiffsmodell der SOVEREIGN OF THE SEAS, Fotos und Maße

  

Das sehr detailliert gearbeitete Schiffsmodell der SOVEREIGN OF THE SEAS zeigt die damals gebräuchlichen umfangreichen Verzierungen des Schiffs sowie die umfangreiche Takelage. Die Bauzeit des Modells betrug 22 Monate.

Das Schiffsmodell ist mit zwei Schrauben am Standbrett festgemacht, die sich leicht lösen lassen. Es hat im Maßstab 1 : 78 eine Länge von 110 cm, eine Breite von 46 cm und eine Höhe von 90 cm.

Hier sind weitere Bilder, verschiedene Gesamtansichten und Detailansichten. Klicken Sie auf die Bilder zum Vergrößern!

 

Dieses Modell ist bereits verkauft und ist in der Galerie der bereits verkauften Modelle nur noch aufgeführt, um Modell-Liebhabern die Möglichkeit zu geben, sich an den Bildern zu erfreuen und vielleicht Hinweise zu bekommen, wenn sie selber ein solches Modell bauen. 


 
  Kontakt:  Tel. 0236159757

Email:  michael.czytko@t-online.de

  Wir über uns Impressum
  Schiffsmodelle kaufen Schiffsmodelle transportieren
  Sitemap Kontakt