Sailing ship models - HMS VICTORY

   

Ship model HMS VICTORY

    

 Scale 1 : 72, length 138 cm, width 50 cm, height 97 cm
More photos: several views of the model and closer views of details. Click on the photos for high resolution pictures!

    

   
HMS VICTORY and Lord Nelson

  
The VICTORY was launched 1765 in the navy yard of Chatham. From the start this ship of the line was equipped with 100 cannons, but found her first employment only in 1778 in the battle near Ouessant against the French. Afterwards there were several sea-engagements in shorter sequence, 1781 again Ouessant, followed by 1782 at Gibraltar, 1793 at Toulon, 1794 at Corsica and 1797 at Cape Sao Vicente.


On 18 May 1803 she became the flagship of admiral Horatio Nelson. He achieved two years later, on 21 October 1805, in the battle of Trafalgar the probably most important victory in the naval history of England.


In 1922 the VICTORY was laid into a dry dock at Portsmouth and has been open for visitors since. Despite all changes in the long history of the ship and the numerous repairs, today she still holds many of the original woods from 1765.

   

There is more information on the ship on HMS Victory, the official website of the National Museum of the Royal Navy.

 

 
The VICTORY ship model, photos, description and dimensions HMS VICTORY

 
This excellent model of the VICTORY was made in 2800 work hours. The ship's power, the impressive lines of the hull and the extensive rigging are exquisitely shown in it. The model shows the VICTORY as she was at Trafalgar, after the extensive refitting two years before. The carronades on the forecastle and the poop have been removed, but the bulwark still had its gun ports.
 
The ship model stands on a walnut board. The board is slightly fixed to the keel by double-sided adhesive tape, so that the model can be lifted and moved somewhere without the stand board falling down. However, the board can be removed easily if the ship model should be placed into some other stand.

 
This beautiful ship model is 1 : 72 scale. Length is 138 cm, width 50 cm, height 97 cm.

   

There are some more photos, several views of the entire model and closer views of hull, deck and rigging. Click images to enlarge!

  

This model has already been sold. The pictures and the data are shown in the gallery of the ship models sold only to let enthusiasts and model makers enjoy the photos and maybe get ideas or some guidance, if someone builds such a model by himself.

 

______________________________________________________________________________________________

We use Google Analytics to improve this website. Click here to deactivate Google Analytics

Historische Schiffsmodelle - HMS VICTORY, Nelson's Flaggschiff beiTrafalgar

   

Schiffsmodell HMS VICTORY

   

Maßstab 1 : 72, Länge 138 cm, Breite 50 cm, Höhe 97 cm
Weitere Fotos: verschiedene Gesamtansichten und Detailansichten. Klicken Sie auf die Fotos für hoch aufgelöste Bilder!

    

   

Die HMS VICTORY und Admiral Nelson

 
Die VICTORY lief 1765 in der Marinewerft in Chatham vom Stapel. Das Linienschiff war von Anfang an mit 100 Kanonen bestückt, fand jedoch erst 1778 in der Schlacht vor Ouessant gegen die Franzosen ihren ersten Einsatz. Danach folgten mehrere Seegefechte des Linienschiffs in kürzerer Folge, 1781 wieder vor Ouessant, 1782 vor Gibraltar, 1793 bei Toulon, 1794 vor Korsika und 1797 vor Kap Sao Vicente.

  
Am 18. Mai 1803 wurde sie das Flaggschiff von Admiral Horatio Nelson, der zwei Jahre später, am 21. Oktober 1805, in der Schlacht von Trafalgar den wohl bedeutendsten Sieg in der Geschichte Englands erlangte. England war danach für 100 Jahre die beherrschende Seemacht der Welt.

 
1922 wurde die VICTORY in Portsmouth in ein Trockendock gelegt und ist seitdem für Besucher geöffnet. Trotz aller Umbauten in der langen Geschichte des Schiffs und der zahlreichen Reparaturen sind heute noch viele der Originalhölzer von 1765 erhalten. Weitere Informationen zum Schiff finden Sie bei HMS Victory, der offiziellen Website des National Museum of the Royal Navy.

 

 
Das Schiffsmodell der VICTORY, Beschreibung, Fotos und Maße

  
Das sehr detailliert gearbeitete Schiffsmodell der VICTORY entstand in 2800 Arbeitsstunden. Es läßt die Mächtigkeit des Schiffs und der Rumpfform sowie die umfangreiche Takelage voll zur Geltung kommen und ist ein in Größe und Gestaltung besonders eindrucksvolles Modell. Es zeigt den Stand der VICTORY zum Zeitpunkt der Schlacht von Trafalgar, nach dem zwei Jahre zuvor erfolgten Umbau. Die Karronaden auf dem Vordeck und dem Achtdeck wurden entfernt, das Schanzkleid war aber noch in der alten Form geblieben.

 
Das Schiffsmodell steht lose in einem Standbrett aus Nußbaumholz. Das Standbrett ist jedoch mit doppelseitigem Klebeband unten am Kiel an zwei Stellen befestigt, so daß das Standbrett beim Anheben und Tragen des Schiffs nicht herunterfällt. Es läßt sich jedoch leicht abziehen, wenn das Modell einen anderen Ständer erhalten sollte. 

 
Das Schiffsmodell im Maßstab 1 : 72  hat eine Länge von 138 cm, eine Breite von 50 cm und eine Höhe von 97 cm.

    

Bitte nehmen Sie sich die Zeit, die verschiedenen Gesamtansichten und Detailansichten näher zu betrachten.