Search engine  

  

 

 

  

Wooden ship models - the VICTORY, flagship of admiral Nelson in the battle of Trafalgar

 

Ship model HMS VICTORY

 

Ship name HMS VICTORY
Scale 1 : 98
Length 104 cm
Width 37 cm
Height 73 cm
Material hull Wood: mahogany, walnut
Photos 1 Several views
Photos 2   -  
Price sold
Transport cost   -   


 

 

 

 

 

Click pictures to enlarge!

 

  

The VICTORY was launched 1765 in the navy yard of Chatham. From the start she was equipped with 100 cannons, but found her first employment only in 1778 in the battle near Ouessant against the French. Afterwards there were several sea-engagements in shorter sequence, 1781 again Ouessant, followed by 1782 at Gibraltar, 1793 at Toulon, 1794 at Corsica and 1797 at Cape Sao Vicente.

On 18 May 1803 she became the flagship of admiral Nelson. He achieved two years later, on 21 October 1805, in the battle of Trafalgar the probably most important victory in the naval history of England.

In 1922 the VICTORY  was laid into a dry dock at Portsmouth and has been open for visitors since. Despite all changes in the long history of the ship and the numerous repairs, today she still holds many of the original woods from 1765.

This very finely worked ship model is made from mahogany below the water-line. That makes a nice contrast to the walnut of the above-surface hull and the stand board from ebony below. Because of the closed gun ports the impressive lines of the hull can be clearly seen.

This model of the VICTORY is 1 : 98 scale. Length is 104 cm, width 37 cm, height 73 cm.

Have a look at the set of photos. There are several pictures taken from different angles. Click images to enlarge!

  

This model has already been sold. The pictures and the data are shown in the gallery of the ship models sold only to let enthusiasts and model makers enjoy the photos and maybe get ideas or some guidance, if someone builds such a model by himself.


  Contact:  Tel. +49 2361 59757

Email:  michael.czytko@t-online.de

  About us Imprint
  Buying ship models Transporting ship models
  Sitemap Contact

Historische Schiffsmodelle - HMS VICTORY

   

Schiffsmodell HMS VICTORY

    

Maßstab 1 : 98, Länge 104 cm, Breite 37 cm, Höhe 73 cm
Weitere Fotos: verschiedene Gesamt- und  Detailansichten. Klicken Sie auf die Fotos für hoch aufgelöste Bilder!

   

   

Die VICTORY lief 1765 in der Marinewerft in Chatham vom Stapel. Sie war von Anfang an mit 100 Kanonen bestückt, fand jedoch erst 1778 in der Schlacht vor Ouessant gegen die Franzosen ihren ersten Einsatz. Danach folgten mehrere Seegefechte in kürzerer Folge, 1781 wieder vor Ouessant, 1782 vor Gibraltar, 1793 bei Toulon, 1794 vor Korsika und 1797 vor Kap Sao Vicente.

  
Am 18. Mai 1803 wurde sie das Flaggschiff von Admiral Nelson, der zwei Jahre später, am 21. Oktober 1805, in der Schlacht bei Trafalgar den wohl bedeutendsten Sieg in der Geschichte Englands erlangte. England war danach für 100 Jahre die beherrschende Seemacht der Welt.

 
1922 wurde die VICTORY in Portsmouth in ein Trockendock gelegt und ist seitdem für Besucher geöffnet. Trotz aller Umbauten in der langen Geschichte des Schiffs und der zahlreichen Reparaturen sind heute noch viele der Originalhölzer von 1765 erhalten.

 
 

Das detailliert gearbeitete Schiffsmodell der VICTORY ist im Unterwasserschiff in Mahagoni gefertigt, was einen reizvollen Kontrast zu dem Nußbaumholz des Überwasserschiffs und dem Standbrett aus Ebenholz bildet. Wegen der geschlossenen Kanonenluken kommt die Rumpfform besonders gut zur Geltung.

  
Das Schiffsmodell im Maßstab 1 : 98  hat eine Länge von 104 cm, eine Breite von 37 cm und eine Höhe von 73 cm.

   

Bitte nehmen Sie sich die Zeit, die verschiedenen Gesamt- und  Detailansichten näher zu betrachten.